An Outdoor Suite

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £25.00

Others in the series:

Adventures in Wonderland
Friends In Step
Fiesta di Napoli
Dancing Centipedes
Bronco Ride for Junior S…
Hugh Bushell: A Piece of…
A Nautical Suite
Leap Frog
The Great Wall of China

The Recital Junior String Ensembles Series series

Recital Music publish a wealth of music for the junior string orchestra ensemble, in a range of popular styles and idioms. Our aim is to create a new and exciting selection of music for every level of string player, from beginner to professional, and to offer music which has great player and audience appeal.

An Outdoor Suite is a fun three movement suite for Junior String Orchestra and was commissioned by the Friends of Music at Wells Cathedral School.

The composer writes: "Off We Go! is in a 60s style Rock beat, with lots of opportunity to explore the typical rhythms that have influenced much of the music of today.

Time to Sit Down! is a slow, dreamy and reflective tune that is stated three times and shared by all the instruments. There is a lot of pizzicato accompaniment to make sure nobody falls asleep!

A Grand Day Out! is a jolly and lively 6/8 tune with some annoying gaps in the rhythm that make sure the players have to count their rests carefully! The tune is split up between the instruments so they sometimes only play a single bar each. This makes a cheerful end to an exciting adventure!"

An Outdoor Suite was premiered at Wells Cathedral School on 9 December 2006 by WYMSO (Wells Youth Music String Orchestra) conducted by Catherine Lord.

An Outdoor Suite can be performed without double basses and also as a string quartet or quintet.

Tony Osborne is an important educationalist and prolific composer who has made a significant and unique contribution to the double bass repertoire over the past 35 years. His solo music for young bassists is included by many international examination boards, and his many ensembles pieces are performed at workshops and concerts throughout the world. Tony Osborne notes the influences of Gershwin, Copland and Bernstein, alongside some of the Russian masters, on his music, which he combines with a jazzy, rhythmic and energetic style that has been popular with players and audiences worldwide.

Born in 1947 into a musical family, Tony Osborne studied at the Royal Academy of Music (London) with John Walton (double bass) and Richard Stoker (composition), and divides a busy career between composing, teaching and performing. A very prolific composer and arranger, Tony's original compositions include works in almost every genre, notably Chaconne Syncopations and Wainwright's Ways for brass quintet, Celebration Fanfare for brass ensemble, the musical A Fine Time for Wine, a beautiful and dramatic Requiem and many works for string orchestra.

In 2001 Tony Osborne was elected an ARAM (Associate of the Royal Academy of Music) for his pioneering and important work for double bass, and has been a featured composer at Bass-Fest for the past decade. He was a very successful BIBF Composer-in-residence in 2002-3 and wrote a number of impressive and innovative works for the project. He has been a judge for the British Composer Awards over the past few years and has been a judge for the BIBF Composition Competition since 1999. Recital Music held a concert of Tony Osborne's music in 2012, to celebrate the composer's 65th birthday, and has formulated a 10-year project to publish all his works for double bass.


  • 1. Off We Go!
  • 2. Time to Sit Down!
  • 3. A Grand Day Out!

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RMS089
Supplier Code RMS089
Price £25.00
ComposerTony Osborne
CategoryString Orchestra
SeriesRecital Junior String Ensembles Series
Difficulty level2 - 3
ISMN 979-0-57045-889-9
EAN-13 9790570458899
Weight 243 grams
Published 7th February 2011
Availability 3 in stock