A Nautical Suite

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £22.50

Others in the series:

Adventures in Wonderland
Friends In Step
Fiesta di Napoli
Dancing Centipedes
Bronco Ride for Junior S…
An Outdoor Suite
Hugh Bushell: A Piece of…
Leap Frog
The Great Wall of China

The Recital Junior String Ensembles Series series

Recital Music publish a wealth of music for the junior string orchestra ensemble, in a range of popular styles and idioms. Our aim is to create a new and exciting selection of music for every level of string player, from beginner to professional, and to offer music which has great player and audience appeal.

Dating from 1984, this four movement suite is based on the popular Sea Shanty 'What Shall We Do With a Drunken Sailor?' and is aimed at the good beginner/intermediate string orchestra. Each movement is in a different style, offering musical and technical challenges in a fun and approachable idiom and is also playable by string quartet or quintet.

Tony Osborne has written many successful works for the educational market and his string works are popular with players and audiences alike.

The edition includes a score and parts (

Performance Level: 4;5

Tony Osborne is an important educationalist and prolific composer who has made a significant and unique contribution to the double bass repertoire over the past 35 years. His solo music for young bassists is included by many international examination boards, and his many ensembles pieces are performed at workshops and concerts throughout the world. Tony Osborne notes the influences of Gershwin, Copland and Bernstein, alongside some of the Russian masters, on his music, which he combines with a jazzy, rhythmic and energetic style that has been popular with players and audiences worldwide.

Born in 1947 into a musical family, Tony Osborne studied at the Royal Academy of Music (London) with John Walton (double bass) and Richard Stoker (composition), and divides a busy career between composing, teaching and performing. A very prolific composer and arranger, Tony's original compositions include works in almost every genre, notably Chaconne Syncopations and Wainwright's Ways for brass quintet, Celebration Fanfare for brass ensemble, the musical A Fine Time for Wine, a beautiful and dramatic Requiem and many works for string orchestra.

In 2001 Tony Osborne was elected an ARAM (Associate of the Royal Academy of Music) for his pioneering and important work for double bass, and has been a featured composer at Bass-Fest for the past decade. He was a very successful BIBF Composer-in-residence in 2002-3 and wrote a number of impressive and innovative works for the project. He has been a judge for the British Composer Awards over the past few years and has been a judge for the BIBF Composition Competition since 1999. Recital Music is planning a major festival of Tony Osborne's music in 2012, to celebrate the composer's 65th birthday, and has formulated a 10-year project to publish all his works for double bass.


  • London Port
  • New England
  • North Atlantic
  • The Spanish Coast

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RMS039
Price £22.50
ComposerTony Osborne
CategoryString Orchestra
SeriesRecital Junior String Ensembles Series
Difficulty level4 - 5
ISMN 979-0-57045-839-4
EAN-13 9790570458394
Weight 316 grams
Published 19th July 2009
Availability 4 in stock
See also...
RM702  Razorback Victory
RMS002  Old MacDonald had a Party
RMS007  Valse Parisenne
RMS009  A Piece of String
RMS038  Moonlight Variations
RMS071  Junior Jazz
RMS108  Sagas & Legends