Two Waltzes Op.54, No.1 & 4

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £25.00

Originally for solo piano and transcribed by the composer, these two charming waltzes can be performed by string quartet, quintet or string orchestra. The elegance and style of 19th-century Vienna is blended with Czech passion and style to produce two works to enchant your audience.

Waltz No.1 has a gentle and lyrical lilt contrasting a more upbeat and earthy Waltz No.2. These are full of Czech character and energy, and work wonderfully for any string orchestration. Much of the melodic material is give to Violin 1, but there is still sufficient musical worth to keep everyone happy.

"These two waltzes were originally composed by Dvorak as part of a set of 8 waltzes op.54 for piano in 1880. In the same year he transposed and arranged them for string orchestra. To quote David Heyes, 'they are idiomatic and enjoyable, and can be played also by a string quartet or quintet.' He describes Waltz No.1 (op.54 no.1) as having a 'gentle lilt and flow, contrasting a more vibrant and dramatic middle section.' The first violins have the tune throughout, but all the parts are enjoyable to play, and there is an independent bass line, much of it a simplified cello part, though with its own pizzicato passage. There are carfeul dynamic and tempi markings, and it is a charming piece.
The second waltz (op.54 no.4) is a complete contrast, and again to quote David Heyes, is 'fast, energetic and is reminiscent of the folk-music played by village bands throughout the Czech countryside.' The melodic line is once again found in the first violins, with the rest of the orchestra providing a strongly independent, rhythmic accompaniment, after an eight-bar introduction.
The music is printed with each waltz on one side of an A3 piece of paper, for ease of playing. The exception is the first violin part, which has an impossible page turn. My only quibble is that it should have been possible to either fold out a page in some way, or turn earlier, where there is a two-bar rest. This is however, a small point. As always, Recital Music ensures that whilst the music is very reasonably priced, the quality of the paper used is uncompromising, and the music is easy to sight-read from, with generous spacing, bar numbers and no unnecessary markings. This comes highly recommended, and many of my pupils are going to enjoy playing 'real music'. [ESTA News & Views]

The edition includes a score and parts (


  • Waltz No. 1, Op. 54 No. 1
  • Waltz No. 2, Op. 54 No. 4

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RMS026
Price £25.00
ComposerAntonín Dvorák
EditorDavid Heyes
CategoryString Orchestra
ISMN 979-0-57045-826-4
EAN-13 9790570458264
Weight 396 grams
Published 19th July 2009
Availability 4 in stock
See also...
RMS047  Nocturne in B major, Op.40
RMS095  Two Elegiac Melodies, Op.34
RMS108  Sagas & Legends
RMS502  Waltz No.1 in A major (STRING QUARTET)