Bronco Ride for Junior String Orchestra

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £20.00

Others in the series:

Adventures in Wonderland
Friends In Step
Fiesta di Napoli
Dancing Centipedes
An Outdoor Suite
Hugh Bushell: A Piece of…
A Nautical Suite
Leap Frog
The Great Wall of China

The Recital Junior String Ensembles Series series

Recital Music publish a wealth of music for the junior string orchestra ensemble, in a range of popular styles and idioms. Our aim is to create a new and exciting selection of music for every level of string player, from beginner to professional, and to offer music which has great player and audience appeal.

Composed for the beginner string orchestra, this is also playable by string quartet or quintet.

Bronco Ride is rhythmic and energetic, enjoyable and playable, using a small number of notes and rhythms to produce a work of maximum effect. Available with parts for Violin 3 or Viola, this has much player and audience appeal with enough rhythmic interest to keep everyone happy and is ideal as a toe-tapping finale to any concert.

Tony Osborne has produced many wonderful pieces for young players, and this exciting work offers excellent training music as well as concert repertoire.

The edition includes a score and parts (

Tony Osborne is an important educationalist and prolific composer who has made a significant and unique contribution to the double bass repertoire over the past 35 years. His solo music for young bassists is included by many international examination boards, and his many ensembles pieces are performed at workshops and concerts throughout the world. Tony Osborne notes the influences of Gershwin, Copland and Bernstein, alongside some of the Russian masters, on his music, which he combines with a jazzy, rhythmic and energetic style that has been popular with players and audiences worldwide.

Born in 1947 into a musical family, Tony Osborne studied at the Royal Academy of Music (London) with John Walton (double bass) and Richard Stoker (composition), and divides a busy career between composing, teaching and performing. A very prolific composer and arranger, Tony's original compositions include works in almost every genre, notably Chaconne Syncopations and Wainwright's Ways for brass quintet, Celebration Fanfare for brass ensemble, the musical A Fine Time for Wine, a beautiful and dramatic Requiem and many works for string orchestra.

In 2001 Tony Osborne was elected an ARAM (Associate of the Royal Academy of Music) for his pioneering and important work for double bass, and has been a featured composer at Bass-Fest for the past decade. He was a very successful BIBF Composer-in-residence in 2002-3 and wrote a number of impressive and innovative works for the project. He has been a judge for the British Composer Awards over the past few years and has been a judge for the BIBF Composition Competition since 1999. Recital Music is planning a major festival of Tony Osborne's music in 2012, to celebrate the composer's 65th birthday, and has formulated a 10-year project to publish all his works for double bass.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RMS005
Price £20.00
ComposerTony Osborne
CategoryString Orchestra
SeriesRecital Junior String Ensembles Series
Difficulty level1 - 2
ISMN 979-0-57045-805-9
EAN-13 9790570458059
Weight 198 grams
Published 28th October 2008
Availability 3 in stock
See also...
RM337  Dancing Centipedes
RM448  Raindrop Ballet
RM702  Razorback Victory
RMS006  Frere Jazzer for Junior Strings and String Orchestra
RMS007  Valse Parisenne
RMS017  Fire! Fire! for Junior Strings and String Orchestra
RMS071  Junior Jazz