Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £10.50

Tony Osborne writes: 'Blues-Beat combines the energies of Blues harmonies, swing rhythms and a 3/4 time signature, which are the elements of the 'Jazz Waltz'. Each player switches between the roles of soloist, drummer, rhythm guitar and bassist, as is typical of many jazz quartets. The rhythmic pace is set in the introductory build-up of the characteristic G7 chord and the major 'Blues' scale. The main theme is stated and kicked around the group. A second theme takes over the interest and takes the initial dominance of the G7 chord a stage further until the piece resolves into the key of C - 7th!'

This jazzy, lively and exciting quartet is ideal for four equal players who are confident in thumb position and would make an ideal final item in a concert, or even the first encore! Blues-Beat is a fun quartet which has proved popular with players and audiences alike.

Tony Osborne is an important educationalist and prolific composer who has made a significant and unique contribution to the double bass repertoire over the past 35 years. His solo music for young bassists is included by many international examination boards, and his many ensembles pieces are performed at workshops and concerts throughout the world. Tony Osborne notes the influences of Gershwin, Copland and Bernstein, alongside some of the Russian masters, on his music, which he combines with a jazzy, rhythmic and energetic style that has been popular with players and audiences worldwide.

Born in 1947 into a musical family, Tony Osborne studied at the Royal Academy of Music (London) with John Walton (double bass) and Richard Stoker (composition), and divides a busy career between composing, teaching and performing. A very prolific composer and arranger, Tony's original compositions include works in almost every genre, notably Chaconne Syncopations and Wainwright's Ways for brass quintet, Celebration Fanfare for brass ensemble, the musical A Fine Time for Wine, a beautiful and dramatic Requiem and many works for string orchestra.

In 2001 Tony Osborne was elected an ARAM (Associate of the Royal Academy of Music) for his pioneering and important work for double bass, and has been a featured composer at Bass-Fest for the past decade. He was a very successful BIBF Composer-in-residence in 2002-3 and wrote a number of impressive and innovative works for the project. He has been a judge for the British Composer Awards over the past few years and has been a judge for the BIBF Composition Competition since 1999. Recital Music held a concert of Tony Osborne's music in 2012, to celebrate the composer's 65th birthday, and has formulated a 10-year project to publish all his works for double bass.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM589
Supplier Code RM589
Price £10.50
ComposerTony Osborne
CategoryDouble Bass Quartet
Difficulty level7 - 8, Advanced
ISMN 979-0-57045-589-8
EAN-13 9790570455898
Weight 101 grams
Published 21st June 2013
Availability 3 in stock
See also...
RM639  Elegia
RM749  Impressions of Elgar
RM750  True Grit
RM751  Courtly Dances
RM752  Sagas & Legends
RM788  Valse Triste