Lyric Sonata

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £11.50

Lyric Sonata is aimed at the intermediate bassist and is in three short movements, with the emphasis on the 'lyric' qualities of the double bass. It remains in bass clef throughout, with the highest note of G harmonic, one octave above the open G string, and offers accessible and interesting study or concert repertoire for progressing bassists.

Armand Russell has written many works for double bass and in recent years has composed a number of pieces for younger players. Each offer a range of musical and technical challenges, with a strong and supportive piano accompaniment, and are written in a confident and accessible style.

Lyric Sonata (1st or 2nd mvts) has been selected for Level 7 by MTB Exams (

Armand Russell was born in Seattle, Washington in 1932. He received the Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts degrees from the University of Washington, with a major in music composition, and a Doctorate in music composition from the Eastman School of Music. He studied double bass with Leslie Martin, who played in the Seattle Symphony and Boston Symphony Orchestras, and at the Eastman School of Music with Oscar Zimmerman. His composition studies were with John Verrall and George McKay at the University of Washington, and with Bernard Rogers and Howard Hanson at the Eastman School.

Professionally, Armand Russell played double bass in many orchestras including the Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Boston Pops Tour Orchestra, Rochester Philharmonic and Civic Orchestras, and Honolulu Symphony. For five years he taught as a visiting Professor at the Eastman School of Music. From 1961 to 1994 he taught at the University of Hawaii Music Department and retired as Professor emeritus in 1994. While at the University of Hawaii he taught music theory, composition and double bass and also served as Chair of the Music Department for seven years.

Armand Russell has composed many works for double bass and also percussion, including solos, chamber music and concertos. Some of his most frequently performed works include Chaconne (Db/Pno), Buffo Set (Db/Pno), Harlequin Concerto (Db/Orch), Pas de Deux (Cl/Perc), Percussion Suite, Theme & Fantasia (Concert Band) and Suite Concertante (Tuba/Wind Quintet). He has also composed several works for choirs in recent years and has continued to write for the double bass alongside a growing body of chamber music and transcriptions.

Armand Russell's compositional style is confident and direct with a clarity of line and texture always to the fore. A modern, yet lyrical and accessible style, has created works which communicate equally to performers and audiences alike and he has made, and continues to make, a unique and valuable contribution to the double bass litereature throughout a long and successful career.

Recital Music is planning a celebration of Armand Russell's music at Bass-Fest in 2012 to celebrate the composers 80th birthday.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM436
Supplier Code RM436
Price £11.50
ComposerArmand Russell
CategoryDouble Bass & Piano
Difficulty level6 - 7
ISMN 979-0-57045-436-5
EAN-13 9790570454365
Weight 128 grams
Published 9th March 2011
Availability 6 in stock
See also...
RM545  Hawai'i Variations