Time Travel

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £10.50

A two-movement work composed for the students at Wells Cathedral School. Aimed at the good intermediate quartet, Time Travel has great drive and character, offering musical and rhythmic challenges for each player. The style is syncopated and jazzy, with plenty of momentum and energy, and is popular with performers and audiences alike. The first movement has a high octane intensity, contrasted by a striking and upbeat finale.

"Rhythmic power is the focus of this two-movement piece by Tony Osborne. Written for four double basses of intermediate standard, the work strongly portrays a feeling of time, movement, drive, momentum and energy. The first section (Moderato) with its bold fanfare-like opening statement, stunning syncopated first theme, and more rhythmically stable jazz-like second theme, reflects restrained energy, while the second section (Presto) projects more flowing, liberated energy. The insistent rhythmic lines of the lower parts accompany a simple but powerful theme reminiscent of an Indian raga. Irregular time signatures as well as fleeting references to the earlier section create a feel of tremendous energy, building right up to the strong conclusion.

Time Travel is a highly entertaining work to perform and listen to." [STRINGENDO - Australian Strings Teachers Association]

Performance Level: 6;8

Tony Osborne is an important educationalist and prolific composer who has made a significant and unique contribution to the double bass repertoire over the past 35 years. His solo music for young bassists is included by many international examination boards, and his many ensembles pieces are performed at workshops and concerts throughout the world. Tony Osborne notes the influences of Gershwin, Copland and Bernstein, alongside some of the Russian masters, on his music, which he combines with a jazzy, rhythmic and energetic style that has been popular with players and audiences worldwide.

Born in 1947 into a musical family, Tony Osborne studied at the Royal Academy of Music (London) with John Walton (double bass) and Richard Stoker (composition), and divides a busy career between composing, teaching and performing. A very prolific composer and arranger, Tony's original compositions include works in almost every genre, notably Chaconne Syncopations and Wainwright's Ways for brass quintet, Celebration Fanfare for brass ensemble, the musical A Fine Time for Wine, a beautiful and dramatic Requiem and many works for string orchestra.

In 2001 Tony Osborne was elected an ARAM (Associate of the Royal Academy of Music) for his pioneering and important work for double bass, and has been a featured composer at Bass-Fest for the past decade. He was a very successful BIBF Composer-in-residence in 2002-3 and wrote a number of impressive and innovative works for the project. He has been a judge for the British Composer Awards over the past few years and has been a judge for the BIBF Composition Competition since 1999. Recital Music is planning a major festival of Tony Osborne's music in 2012, to celebrate the composer's 65th birthday, and has formulated a 10-year project to publish all his works for double bass.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM064
Price £10.50
ComposerTony Osborne
CategoryDouble Bass Quartet
Difficulty level6 - 8
ISMN 979-0-57045-064-0
EAN-13 9790570450640
Weight 130 grams
Published 19th July 2009
Availability 6 in stock
See also...
RM012  Green Bass Blues
RM020  The Ragtime Bass Player
RM621  The Drums Must Never Stop! (A Salsa Encore)