Six English Tunes

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £10.50

Scored for 3 Violins, Viola & Cello.

English composer Peter Warlock (1894-1930), was a keen advocate of early music, when few others were, and produced many new editions of long forgotten music during the 1920s. These delightful anonymous pieces from the 16th and early 17th-centuries would be suitable for quintet or larger forces. They are taken from a MS in the British Museum (c.1625) and were edited for publication in 1926.

The original manuscripts are unbarred and without any indications of pace, phrasing or dynamics which, on the whole, Peter Warlock has left to the discretion of performers and conductors.

Ideal for the intermediate ensemble, there are few technical chalenges but scope for ensemble training and a useful introduction to early music styles. Each short piece has its own strong character and identity and there are no dynamic indications to allow each ensemble to create their own personal and unique performance.

A good introduction to ensemble playing.


  • 1. The Witch
  • 2. Daphne
  • 3. Strawberry Leaves
  • 4. Tickle My Toe
  • 5. Sweet Youth
  • 6. A Toy

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RMS116
Price £10.50
TranscribedPeter Warlock
CategoryString Quintet
Difficulty level4 - 5
ISMN 979-0-57045-916-2
EAN-13 9790570459162
Weight 142 grams
Published 15th August 2009
Availability 6 in stock
See also...
RM860  Miniatures (STRING QUARTET)