God Be In My Head

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £1.50

Part of our Recital Music Multiple Copies of Choral Music

Extra 10% discount when you order 20+ copies from the Recital Choral Catalogue.

This offer applies to selected products.

God Be In My Head is scored for SSAA, or SATB and Organ (1997), both published together.

This was originally composed as an alternative to the famous setting by Sir Henry Walford Davies (1869-1941). Although each of the short five sections is a self-contained musical phrase, they should all be viewed as part of one long, continuous phrase from beginning to end - a prolonged crescendo/decrescendo.

Jonathan Palmer spent the early part of his life in Bath, taking up the cello at the age of fifteen. He studied with Brian Greensmith in Yorkshire and then became an undergraduate at Reading University, where he studied composition with Andrew Byrne. Later he studied conducting with George Hurst and John Carewe and developed his compositional skills for a while under Sir Peter Maxwell Davies.
Jonathan began his teaching career in Southampton, continued in Bruton (Somerset), diversified in Bermuda and finally settled in Bristol, where he was appointed as Director of Music at Clifton High School in 1994. He retired in 2007 to concentrate on composition and is now a part-time research student working for a PhD in Composition at the University of Bristol. He began his studies under Professor Geoff Poole, and is now in his final year under Professor John Pickard. In August 2010 he was awarded the Raymond Warren Prize for Composition.

Over the years he has conducted numerous choirs and orchestras, worked as a professional double bass player, and is choral director for Choirs at Sea, and Director of Bristol South Music Centre, where he conducts a community orchestra of adults and students. During the summer of 2010 he was a music tutor at Marlborough Summer School, conducting the adult orchestra and directing a composers' workshop.

Recent works include String Quartet No 2 (2010), Double Bass Concerto (2011), Doom Triptych for Trumpet and Organ (2012) and a Wind Quintet (2012-13).

4 pages / A4 format / Paperback
Difficulty: Medium Easy
Duration: c.2 minutes

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RMS054
Supplier Code RMS054
Price £1.50
ComposerJonathan Palmer
CategoryChoral (mixed Voices)
ISMN 979-0-57045-854-7
EAN-13 9790570458547
Weight 14 grams
Published 18th January 2013
Availability 44 in stock
See also...
RMS052  Magnificat (CHORAL (UPPER VOICES))