Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £1.50

Part of our Recital Music Multiple Copies of Choral Music

Extra 10% discount when you order 20+ copies from the Recital Choral Catalogue.

This offer applies to selected products.

Magnificat for SSAA and Organ was composed in 2005 for the Chamber Choir at Clifton High School, Bristol, and was performed a number of times that year, both at Bristol Cathedral, and at Santa Maria della Pietai, Venice (where Vivaldi was Director of Music).

The opening and final part both contain more than a hint of Monteverdi, and enclose the more substantial central section that is reminiscent of plainchant.

Jonathan Palmer spent the early part of his life in Bath, taking up the cello at the age of fifteen. He studied with Brian Greensmith in Yorkshire and then became an undergraduate at Reading University, where he studied composition with Andrew Byrne. Later he studied conducting with George Hurst and John Carewe and developed his compositional skills for a while under Sir Peter Maxwell Davies.
Jonathan began his teaching career in Southampton, continued in Bruton (Somerset), diversified in Bermuda and finally settled in Bristol, where he was appointed as Director of Music at Clifton High School in 1994. He retired in 2007 to concentrate on composition and is now a part-time research student working for a PhD in Composition at the University of Bristol. He began his studies under Professor Geoff Poole, and is now in his final year under Professor John Pickard. In August 2010 he was awarded the Raymond Warren Prize for Composition.

Over the years he has conducted numerous choirs and orchestras, worked as a professional double bass player, and is choral director for Choirs at Sea, and Director of Bristol South Music Centre, where he conducts a community orchestra of adults and students. During the summer of 2010 he was a music tutor at Marlborough Summer School, conducting the adult orchestra and directing a composers' workshop.

Recent works include String Quartet No 2 (2010), Double Bass Concerto (2011), Doom Triptych for Trumpet and Organ (2012) and a Wind Quintet (2012-13).

4 pages / A4 format / Paperback
Difficulty: Medium
Duration: c. 3 minutes

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RMS052
Supplier Code RMS052
Price £1.50
ComposerJonathan Palmer
CategoryChoral (upper Voices)
ISMN 979-0-57045-852-3
EAN-13 9790570458523
Weight 14 grams
Published 26th February 2013
Availability 49 in stock
See also...