Love Music

Cover photograph
See larger image
Out of Print

A lyrical and harmonically adventurous one-movement work for the good intermediate string orchestra. Sonorous, atmospheric and beautifully sustained, this has much to appeal to performers and audiences alike. The meandering chordal harmonies produce a work in the English tradition, but with just a hint of Gallic charm and atmosphere.

Peter Lamb writes in a traditional, but harmonically interesting style, producing music which is enjoyed by players and audiences alike. The music is always accessible and enjoyable.

The edition includes a score and parts (

Peter Lamb (1925-2013) was born in London and studied composition at Trinity College of Music, subsequently with Arthur Benjamin, and was awarded a Fellowship of Trinity College for his First String Quartet.

He combined a busy career as a professional composer and music administrator, initially working for two international record companies before an appointment as Deputy Manager of the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra. Here he worked on programme building with the eminent conductor Constantin Silvestri, and also helped to establish the Bournemouth Sinfonietta. For ten years he was Head of Music at Peter Symonds' College in Winchester and, prior to his retirement, lectured at the University of Southampton for eight years.

Peter Lamb's music has been performed worldwide, from Britain, France and Sweden, to Brazil, Canada and America, and significant works include a Flute Sonata, Flute Sonatina, Duologue for oboe and piano, a String Quartet, Concerto for viola and string orchestra, Wind Quintet, and many unaccompanied choral works. His compositional style combines a quintessentially English quality with a clarity of line and expression, incorporating a rich and varied harmonic palette and a gallic charm, producing music of strong character and distinction.

In recent years Peter Lamb has composed a number of works for double bass - for players of all ages and abilities - helping to increase the quality and breadth of modern English music for the instrument.

Cat No. RMS043
ComposerPeter Lamb
CategoryString Orchestra
ISMN 979-0-57045-843-1
EAN-13 9790570458431
Weight 284 grams
Published 19th July 2009
Availability OUT OF PRINT.
Unavailable - sorry!
See also...
RM424  Suite Fran├žaise
RM429  Dreamland
RMS024  Elegy Op.58
RMS108  Sagas & Legends