Pie Jesu

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £2.25

Part of our Recital Music Multiple Copies of Choral Music

Extra 10% discount when you order 20+ copies from the Recital Choral Catalogue.

This offer applies to selected products.

Pie Jesu is a gentle and lyrical setting of the text that draws on influences of traditional liturgy combined with elements of folk and even blues styles. The music flows along in a 6/8 rhythm, almost like a lullaby, interweaving several melodic ideas that work harmoniously together. A tender 4/4 section brings the movement to a peaceful conclusion. The music is rooted in childlike innocence, expressive of a simple faith.

Pie Jesu is the third movement from Tony Osborne's evocative and powerful Requiem and is scored for Solo Soprano, SSAA choir and Piano or Organ. The Requiem was premiered on 7 November 1998.

An orchestral accompaniment (Oboe, Horn, Harp & String Quintet or Orchestra) is available from the publisher by special order.

This beautiful, lyrical and atmospheric work would fit easily into any choral concert. Composed in a tonal, popular and accessible idiom there is much here to enjoy for choirs and audiences alike.

A version for Soprano, SATB and Piano/Organ (RMS015) is also available.

Tony Osborne is an important educationalist and prolific composer who has made a significant and unique contribution to the double bass repertoire over the past 35 years. His solo music for young bassists is included by many international examination boards, and his many ensembles pieces are performed at workshops and concerts throughout the world. Tony Osborne notes the influences of Gershwin, Copland and Bernstein, alongside some of the Russian masters, on his music, which he combines with a jazzy, rhythmic and energetic style that has been popular with players and audiences worldwide.

Born in 1947 into a musical family, Tony Osborne studied at the Royal Academy of Music (London) with John Walton (double bass) and Richard Stoker (composition), and divides a busy career between composing, teaching and performing. A very prolific composer and arranger, Tony's original compositions include works in almost every genre, notably Chaconne Syncopations and Wainwright's Ways for brass quintet, Celebration Fanfare for brass ensemble, the musical A Fine Time for Wine, a beautiful and dramatic Requiem and many works for string orchestra.

In 2001 Tony Osborne was elected an ARAM (Associate of the Royal Academy of Music) for his pioneering and important work for double bass, and has been a featured composer at Bass-Fest for the past decade. He was a very successful BIBF Composer-in-residence in 2002-3 and wrote a number of impressive and innovative works for the project. He has been a judge for the British Composer Awards over the past few years and has been a judge for the BIBF Composition Competition since 1999. Recital Music is planning a major festival of Tony Osborne's music in 2012, to celebrate the composer's 65th birthday, and has formulated a 10-year project to publish all his works for double bass.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RMS025
Price £2.25
ComposerTony Osborne
CategoryChoral (upper Voices)
ISMN 979-0-57045-825-7
EAN-13 9790570458257
Weight 14 grams
Published 19th July 2009
Availability 25 in stock
See also...
RMS029  3 Thoughtful Carols (CAROLS (UPPER VOICES))
RMS030  Ave
RMS036  Weep you no more sad fountains