Elegy Op.58

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £18.50

Dating from 1909 and premiered in London, this exquisite miniature was composed in one of the most productive of the composer's life. Written between the two symphonies (1908 & 1910), this short one-movement work is almost unknown in the string orchestra repertoire. The solemn, lyrical and sonorous character offers few technical challenges for the enthusiastic and adventurous string orchestra and deserves to be much better known.

"Elegy for string orchestra was given its premiere in 1909, at a memorial concert for the dedicatee, the Rev. R.H. Haddon, who had been the late Junior Warden of the Worshipful Company of Musicians. It may also have served as a private tribute to his great friend at Novello, August Jaeger, who died the same year. It is a short piece, only one side of an A4 [per part] and is played con sord. The tempo is marked crotchet = 66, Adagio, but with many rits and allargandi, with a piu lento and molto rit. to the end. There is some divisi octave writing in both first and second violins, and there are accidentals liberally sprinkled throughout.

The music is accessible, and ideal when teaching the need to follow the conductor. There is some wonderful cantabile writing, along with triplets, 'turns', and syncopation. The second violins have a passage that would need fourth position. The bass part is different from the cello part, although similar in places.

As I have come to expect with Recital Music, the printing is excellent. The A4 pages are of thick paper unlikely to fall off music stands. The spacing of notes, lines and staves is generous, and there are bar numbers and rehearsal letters. Changes of speed are indicated in bold type, and changes of mood, in italics. This helps the clarity, as does the lack of fingering. The price is very reasonable, and there can't be any reason not to add this to your library of string orchestra music. Buy British! [ESTA News & Views]

Recital Music also publish editions of Elgar's Elegy Op.58 for string quartet and double bass quartet

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RMS024
Price £18.50
ComposerSir Edward Elgar
EditorDavid Heyes
CategoryString Orchestra
ISMN 979-0-57045-824-0
EAN-13 9790570458240
Weight 133 grams
Published 19th July 2009
Availability 3 in stock
See also...
RM424  Suite Fran├žaise
RM429  Dreamland
RM478  Leckhampton (STRING QUARTET)
RMS001  Andante Sostenuto
RMS043  Love Music