Valse Parisenne

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £18.50

The style and elegance of the Parisian waltz is encapsulated in this lyrical and stylish work for the beginner/intermediate string orchestra. Also playable by string quartet or quintet, this would be ideal for any school concert and would act as a suitable contrast to Fiesta di Napoli (RMS008). Much of the melodic material is give to Violin 1, but there is enough to keep everyone else happy, to produce a work of Gallic charm and elegance. The edition includes a score and parts (

"A charming little piece! Valse Parisienne would make a great addition to any school ensemble or string quartet's repertoire. The marking at the beginning of the piece is 'graceful and flowing' and describes it beautifully. This 2 minute piece is in ternary form with the introduction and A sections in G minor and the melody mostly in the first violin part. However in the B section the melody is passed between the viola and second violin parts and is in G major. This piece would be suitable for students of a first grade standard and higher and is scored for Violin 1, Violin 2, Violin 3/Viola, Cello and Double Bass." [STRINGENDO - Australian String Teachers Association]

"...a charming piece...This short piece stretches to just 62 bars and evokes in a nostalgic way the atmosphere of Paris largely through the sultriness of its harmonies. The accordion-like timbres inadvertently bring Piazzolla to my mind but I love the whimsical irregularity of the phrase-lengths and the moments of prominence for third violin/viola as well as second violin. Simple to play without in any way speaking down to players or audience, this piece should be well received by both." [Music Teacher]

Tony Osborne is an important educationalist and prolific composer who has made a significant and unique contribution to the double bass repertoire over the past 35 years. His solo music for young bassists is included by many international examination boards, and his many ensembles pieces are performed at workshops and concerts throughout the world. Tony Osborne notes the influences of Gershwin, Copland and Bernstein, alongside some of the Russian masters, on his music, which he combines with a jazzy, rhythmic and energetic style that has been popular with players and audiences worldwide.

Born in 1947 into a musical family, Tony Osborne studied at the Royal Academy of Music (London) with John Walton (double bass) and Richard Stoker (composition), and divides a busy career between composing, teaching and performing. A very prolific composer and arranger, Tony's original compositions include works in almost every genre, notably Chaconne Syncopations and Wainwright's Ways for brass quintet, Celebration Fanfare for brass ensemble, the musical A Fine Time for Wine, a beautiful and dramatic Requiem and many works for string orchestra.

In 2001 Tony Osborne was elected an ARAM (Associate of the Royal Academy of Music) for his pioneering and important work for double bass, and has been a featured composer at Bass-Fest for the past decade. He was a very successful BIBF Composer-in-residence in 2002-3 and wrote a number of impressive and innovative works for the project. He has been a judge for the British Composer Awards over the past few years and has been a judge for the BIBF Composition Competition since 1999. Recital Music is planning a major festival of Tony Osborne's music in 2012, to celebrate the composer's 65th birthday, and has formulated a 10-year project to publish all his works for double bass.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RMS007
Price £18.50
ComposerTony Osborne
CategoryString Orchestra
Difficulty level3 - 4
ISMN 979-0-57045-807-3
EAN-13 9790570458073
Weight 186 grams
Published 19th July 2009
Availability 7 in stock
See also...
RM702  Razorback Victory
RMS002  Old MacDonald had a Party
RMS005  Bronco Ride for Junior String Orchestra
RMS008  Fiesta di Napoli
RMS021  Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring
RMS037  Jazz Contrasts
RMS039  A Nautical Suite