Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £15.00

In Preparation

MISERERE is scored for soprano and double bass octet. The edition also includes a solo violin part in place of the soprano.

Tony Osborne writes: "MISERERE was composed to marke the 90th anniversary of the end of World War I. Many works have been composed to commemorate war and its consequences, notably including works by Benjamin Britten, Arthur Bliss, Ralph Vaughan Williams and Dmitri Shostakovich. The poems of Wilfred Owen and others figure extensively in many of the choral and vocal works.

The word MISERERE forms the opening of Psalm 51 in the Latin Vulgate version:
Miserere mei, Deus: secundum magnam misericordiam, translated as Have mercy upon me, O God, according to thy loving kindness. (King James). One of the most often heard settings of this is by Gregorio Allegri, and it has also been set by Palestrina and Vivaldi.

In this work, the use of the word Miserere is more to convey the feeling of desolation and futility in War than the Psalm. Although the mood of the piece is characteristically profound and solemn, there are moments of light - offering the hand of piece and reconciliation. It opens with a dramatic statement, with the characteristic of a discordant peal of bells, that sets the overall mood and slow pace of the piece. The soprano solo enters with a relatively simple rising figure, accompanied by a more subdued version of the opening, all of which become increasingly florid.

A brief instrumental interlude follows, with a fleeting reference to the opening idea, leading to a new vocal theme that offers a little relief, creating a bitter-sweet flavour within the piece. The bell-like reference returns with a fresh and more discordant intensity. There follows a more romantic and positive, but still intense, mood that reflects back to the opening motif, now presented in a fresh light, with the earlier vocal lines soaring above - expressing the hope that mankind might just learn from its past, and respect life in all its diversity."

Born in 1947 into a musical family, Tony Osborne studied at the Royal Academy of Music (London) with John Walton (double bass) and Richard Stoker (composition), and divides a busy career between composing, teaching and performing. A very prolific composer and arranger, Tony's original compositions include works in almost every genre, notably Chaconne Syncopations and Wainwright's Ways for brass quintet, Celebration Fanfare for brass ensemble, the musical A Fine Time for Wine, a beautiful and dramatic Requiem and many works for string orchestra.

In 2001 Tony Osborne was elected an ARAM (Associate of the Royal Academy of Music) for his pioneering and important work for double bass, and has been a featured composer at Bass-Fest for the past decade. He was a very successful BIBF Composer-in-residence in 2002-3 and wrote a number of impressive and innovative works for the project. He has been a judge for the British Composer Awards over the past few years and has been a judge for the BIBF Composition Competition since 1999.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM996
Supplier Code RM996
ComposerTony Osborne
CategoryDouble Bass Octet
Difficulty level7 - 8, Advanced
ISMN 979-0-57045-996-4
EAN-13 9790570459964
Weight 183 grams
Availability NOT IN STOCK. Sorry for delay!
Available in approx. 7—12 days.