Organum 1

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £6.50

Bernard Salles writes: 'Organum 1' for double bass and organ (or double bass trio) was written for Marc Antonio Quiñones, double bassist with the Orchestra of Mexico. It’s a small piece that uses a very old musical form, the 'organum'; a melody (almost plainchant) which develops over one or several held notes.

Here, over held D octaves, we find the 5th (A), then the 7th (C) followed by the minor 6th (B flat) played on the organ. Over this obstinato unfolds a long melody on the double bass, whose ambitus grows as the piece develops, eventually forming a complete circle to end where it began. Variations on the initial theme of this piece will be written at a later date.

'Organum 1' was premiered by its dedicatee on 15 June 2016 in the Hermilo Novelo Room (Ollin Yoliztli Cultural Centre, Mexico)"

Bernard Salles was born in 1954 and began his musical education in his home town of Perpignan (France) where he studied double bass, organ, composition and orchestral conducting at the Conservatoire. In 1973 he want to the Conservatoire of Versailles and in 1976, at the age of 22, he was awarded a double bass teaching diploma. Since then he has taught at the Conservatoire of Pau (South-west France) and played with many major French orchestras including the Orchestre de Paris and the National Orchestra of France, under the direction of conductors such as Daniel Barenboim, Pierre Boulez, Zubin Metha and Lorin Maazel.

In 1983 he began a parallel career as a conductor and was Music Director of the Orchestra of Pau from 1996-2001. He has directed the Orchestra of Pamplona (Spain) and is currently Music Director of the OSSO (Orchestre Symphonique du Sud-Ouest).

As a composer and member of SACEM (Society of Authors, Composers and Editors of Music), he has written over 30 works including two symphonies, a cantata, a psalm for bass and orchestra, a concerto for double bass and small orchestra, Rhapsody for viola and orchestra, Triptych for orchestra, Prelude for cello and orchestra, a symphonic poem for soprano, cello and orchestra, as well as works for chamber groups, and for choir and organ. His pedagogic works are published by G.Billaudot in Paris and his works for double bass are published by Recital Music (England).

In 2010 he began a series of short pieces for unaccompanied double bass - Portraits for Friends - dedicated to his double bass playing friends.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM943
Supplier Code RM943
Price £6.50
ComposerBernard Salles
CategoryDouble Bass & Organ
Difficulty level8, Advanced
ISMN 979-0-57045-943-8
EAN-13 9790570459438
Weight 90 grams
Published 8th March 2017
Availability 6 in stock
See also...
RM1002  Memento Mori