Sonata in the Viennese Style

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £12.50

Michal Bylina writes: "Sonata in the Viennese Style was composed as a present for my good friend Silvano Pagliuca-Mena, a Venezuelan composer and double bassist, who had composed a piece and dedicated it to me. Having received his generous gift I quickly decided to write a piece and dedicate it to him.

Although Sonatas for double bass and viola, or double bass and cello, by J.M. Sperger (1750-1812) do exist, there are no duets for two double basses - or at least nothing has been discovered yet! I thought someone should fill this gap and the idea of writing a bass duet in the Classical style was born.

This Sonata is in five movements and for double basses tuned in fourths, rather than 'viennese tuning'. It was written as a tribute to, and under the influence of, composers of the Classical period who contributed to the Viennese double bass legacy, such as Franz Anton Hoffmeister and Johann Mathias Sperger. The entire piece, as was typical of compositions from this time, is in the key of D major with the exception of the Minuetto which is in G major.

The first movement, in the style of Hoffmeister, plays around with one of his favourite motives and includes a short cadenza. The next movement (Poco adagio) begins in D major and passes through D minor, contrasting the Minuetto a la Sperger which is in G major and its trio in G minor. This movement is written in the style of Sperger and the imitations form a gentle conversation between the two players.
The fourth movement (Andante) is the most lyrical of the Sonata and also includes a short cadenza, ending with the Finale (Allegro) in the style of a short and charming rondo, also moving from D major to D minor and back to the tonic key."

Michal Bylina was born in 1993 in Krakow, Poland. He began studying the double bass at the age of 13 with Prof. Witold Stryszowski and in 2011 became Principal Bass in Krakowska Orkiestrata Kameralna, touring in the same year with the orchestra to Brittany. He has been Principal Bass in the Deutsche-Polnische Orchester Akademie and became a member of the International Lutoslawski Youth Orchestra. In 2015 Michal was awarded a Distinction in the first Bonawntura Nancka Double Bass Competition in Bielsko-Biala, and has taken classes with many leading double bassists.

Michal has composed a number of works for double bass including a Waltz (3Db), Suite in the Olden Style (3Db) and cadenzas for a number of Classical concertos, alongside creating many arrangements and new editions.


  • 1. Allegro a la Hoffmeister
  • 2. Poco Adagio
  • 3. Minuetto à la Sperger
  • 4. Andante
  • 5. Finale: Allegro

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM789
Supplier Code RM789
Price £12.50
ComposerMichal Bylina
CategoryDouble Bass Duet
Difficulty level7 - 8, Advanced
ISMN 979-0-57045-789-2
EAN-13 9790570457892
Weight 160 grams
Published 2nd June 2015
Availability 11 in stock
See also...
RM173  Duettino Basso II
RM240  Bass-Cleft
RM359  Novelette (VIOLIN & DOUBLE BASS)
RM880  Suite in the Olden Style No.1 (double bass trio) (DOUBLE BASS TRIO)