A Spotless Rose

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £1.35


42 publications in this series

Part of our Recital Music Multiple Copies of Choral Music

Extra 10% discount when you order 20+ copies from the Recital Choral Catalogue.

This offer applies to selected products.

The Christmas Choral & Vocal Music series

Recital Music has developed a large, exciting and eclectic catalogue of Christmas music for choirs in recent years. Some works are published for the first time, others are in new editions, and we aim to provide accessible and enjoyable choral music for choirs of all ages and abilities. Enjoy!

A Spotless Rose is dedicated to Sarah Poole and was written for a charity concert on Sunday 7 December 2014. The simple arpeggio accompaniment creates an atmospheric web above which the female choir, in three parts, can weave their melodic lines and is set to a most evocative and beautiful text. The accompaniment can be played by piano or harp and the carol is a simple and understated setting which the composer hopes will appeal to choirs and audiences alike.

A Spotless Rose is also available for solo voice and piano.

David Heyes studied double bass with Laurence Gray and Bronwen Naish and later at the Royal College of Music in London. He completed his post-graduate studies in Prague with Frantisek Posta (Principal Double Bass, Czech Philharmonic Orchestra). He has given recitals and masterclasses in 13 countries over the past few years and has been a juror at a number of international competitions, twice as chairman.

David has been Specialist Double Bass Tutor at Wells Cathedral School for 17 years and received a prestigious award from the David Walter Charitable Trust of New York for his pioneering activities as a soloist, teacher, publisher and commissioner of new music for double bass. He works with composers throughout the world and is particularly interested to expand the double bass repertoire, by commissioning new works and by rediscovering forgotten ones. Over the past 30 years he has commissioned more than 500 works, from beginner to virtuoso, and from one to twenty basses.

David has transcribed more than 200 works for double bass, many published by Recital Music, and in recent year has also composed a number of original works for double bass which have been performed in Britain, America and Czech Republic. David is self-taught as a composer and his music has been described as lyrical and accessible, but certainly of the 21st-century. In recent years he has had premieres and performances in Britain, America, Spain and the Czech Republic, was a Featured Composer at Galicia Graves 2015 (Spain) and composed 'Sahara' as the imposed work for the competition.

See http://contrabassconversations.com/2016/10/24/264-david-heyes-leaving-legacy/

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM742
Supplier Code RM742
Price £1.35
ComposerDavid Heyes
TranslaterCatherine Winkworth
Words18th-century German
CategoryCarols (upper Voices)
SeriesChristmas Choral & Vocal Music
ISMN 979-0-57045-742-7
EAN-13 9790570457427
Weight 14 grams
Published 1st August 2014
Availability 37 in stock
See also...
RM888  A Spotless Rose (VOICE & PIANO)
RM906  There is No Rose