Pieces of Eight

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £12.50

38 publications in this series

The Beginner Bass Series series

Recital Music publish music for every level of double bassist and in the past few years have concentrated on music for the younger player. This new and exciting series includes works with simple, accessible technical and musical challenges for beginners and progressing bassists. Piano accompaniments are supportive and written with the bass teacher in mind, creating a new repertoire which is ideal for concert and educational use.

Pieces of Eight is a collection of eight enjoyable and engaging pieces for the young bassist. A range of popular musical styles have been employed, such as ragtime and rock, to create a set of fun pieces which have a strong rhythmic element and should appeal to young bassists of all ages.

Each piece has a lively and supportive piano accompaniment, ideal for any school concert, and offer a range of musical and technical challenges which have been 'road-tested' many times with the composer's own students. The variety of musical styles and idioms should appeal to young bassists and there is scope to change or adapt bowings and dynamics to create a truly unique performance each time.

Sebastien Beliah was born in 1979 and studied at the CNSM in Paris (Jazz/Improvisation) and double bass with Jean-Christophe Deleforge at the CRR in Auberviller-La Courneuvre. He divides a busy career between performing (classical, contemporary, jazz), teaching and composing. For 7 years he led the quartet 'Wark', which performed at many festivals across France, and currently playes with the trio 'r.mutt' and 'Ensemble Hodos'. Since 2006 Sebastien Beliah has taught double bass and improvisation at the CRR in Reims and is also an active member of the Umlaut Records crew in Paris.


  • 1. Sunday
  • 2. Happy Bass
  • 3. Candlelight
  • 4. An Old-Time Rag
  • 5. A Strange Waltz
  • 6. The Funky Ragtime and a Serious Fugato
  • 7. A Slow Rag
  • 8. Double Bass Party
Syllabus info
Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music: Bowed Strings 2020 - 2023   (until Dec 2023)  

Double Bass - grade 4

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM613
Supplier Code RM613
Price £12.50
ComposerSebastien Beliah
CategoryDouble Bass & Piano
SeriesBeginner Bass Series
Difficulty level4 - 6
ISMN 979-0-57045-613-0
EAN-13 9790570456130
Weight 152 grams
Published 1st July 2013
Availability 4 in stock
See also...
RM1114  Four Episodes