Italian Tarantella

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £8.50

Composed in 1996 and revised in 2013, this fun quartet is ideal for the good intermediate bass quartet and is also playable with larger forces.

A lively and rhythmic accompaniment drives the music along and the melodic material is shared between basses 1-3. Bass 4 provides a strong and important bass line and Tony Osborne successfully captures the feeling and mood of a sunny Italian landscape with a group of dancers performing in a fast and energetic dance and enjoyed by all.

Tony Osborne is an important educationalist and prolific composer who has made a significant and unique contribution to the double bass repertoire over the past 35 years. His solo music for young bassists is included by many international examination boards, and his many ensembles pieces are performed at workshops and concerts throughout the world. Tony Osborne notes the influences of Gershwin, Copland and Bernstein, alongside some of the Russian masters, on his music, which he combines with a jazzy, rhythmic and energetic style that has been popular with players and audiences worldwide.

Born in 1947 into a musical family, Tony Osborne studied at the Royal Academy of Music (London) with John Walton (double bass) and Richard Stoker (composition), and divides a busy career between composing, teaching and performing. A very prolific composer and arranger, Tony's original compositions include works in almost every genre, notably Chaconne Syncopations and Wainwright's Ways for brass quintet, Celebration Fanfare for brass ensemble, the musical A Fine Time for Wine, a beautiful and dramatic Requiem and many works for string orchestra.

In 2001 Tony Osborne was elected an ARAM (Associate of the Royal Academy of Music) for his pioneering and important work for double bass, and has been a featured composer at Bass-Fest for the past decade. He was a very successful BIBF Composer-in-residence in 2002-3 and wrote a number of impressive and innovative works for the project. He has been a judge for the British Composer Awards over the past few years and has been a judge for the BIBF Composition Competition since 1999. Recital Music held a concert of Tony Osborne's music in 2012, to celebrate the composer's 65th birthday, and has formulated a 10-year project to publish all his works for double bass.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM602
Supplier Code RM602
Price £8.50
ComposerTony Osborne
CategoryDouble Bass Quartet
Difficulty level5 - 8
ISMN 979-0-57045-602-4
EAN-13 9790570456024
Weight 98 grams
Published 21st June 2013
Availability 9 in stock
See also...
RM749  Impressions of Elgar
RM750  True Grit
RM751  Courtly Dances