Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £8.00

Seven Miniatures is a set of beautiful and atmospheric miniatures for the aspiring pianist. The pieces vary somewhat in technical and musical difficulty and contain several recurring motifs. Peter Lamb writes in an accessible style, with the use of effective chromatic and romantic harmonies allied to an English sensibility and pastoral beauty.

Peter Lamb (1925-2013) was born in London and studied composition at Trinity College of Music, subsequently with Arthur Benjamin, and was awarded a Fellowship of Trinity College for his First String Quartet.

He combined a busy career as a professional composer and music administrator, initially working for two international record companies before an appointemnt as Deputy Manager of the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra. Here he worked on programme building with the eminent conductor Constantin Silvestri, and also helped to establish the Bournemouth Sinfonietta. For ten years he was Head of Music at Peter Symonds' College in Winchester and, prior to his retirement, lectured at the University of Southampton for eight years.

Peter Lamb's music has been performed worldwide, from Britain, France and Sweden, to Brazil, Canada and America, and significant works include a Flute Sonata, Flute Sonatina, Duologue for oboe and piano, a String Quartet, Concerto for viola and string orchestra, Wind Quintet, and many unaccompanied choral works. His compositional style combines a quintessentially English quality with a clarity of line and expression, incorporating a rich and varied harmonic palette and a gallic charm, producing music of strong character and distinction.

In recent years Peter Lamb wrote a number of works for double bass - for players of all ages and abilities - helping to increase the quality and breadth of modern English music for the instrument.


  • 1. Romance
  • 2. Idylle
  • 3. Solace
  • 4. Intermezzo
  • 5. Devotion
  • 6. Consolation
  • 7. Evocation
  • 8. Wistful

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM522
Supplier Code RM522
Price £8.00
ComposerPeter Lamb
CategoryPiano Solo
ISMN 979-0-57045-522-5
EAN-13 9790570455225
Weight 95 grams
Published 18th January 2013
Availability 6 in stock
See also...
RM177  Two Invocations