Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £6.00

30 publications in this series

The Fizz @ 50 series

A series of fifty short pieces for double bass and piano from composers throughout the world, instigated by David Heyes to celebrate his 50th birthday. Each composer received a bottle of champagne (Fizz) as payment.

The composer writes: 'Burlesque was commissioned by David Heyes for Recital Music's 'Fizz @ 50' project series and was completed on 5 January 2012. Having in mind the need to present the double bass as a solo instrument, as well as to create a piece whose expression would be familiar to young bassists, the multi-faceted connotactions of the burlesque seemed to me as the ideal setting.

In a rondo-form, the piece brings out the various characteristic of the double bass which I personally find most exciting about the instrument - witty dance movements, charming clumsiness, a touch of grotesque spirit and, above all, a beautifully broad singing sound.

The piano accompaniment adds some rhythmical and harmonic flavour and acts as a supportive companion to the soloist. I hope the piece will be useful for double bass students and their teachers and that it will bring joy to the performers.'

Pianist and composer, Bruno Vlahek, was born in 1986 in Zagreb (Croatia). He graduated from the Zagreb Academy of Music as one of the youngest piano students ever, and subsequently won international scholarships to study in Lausanne, Cologne and Madrid. At Cologne University he studied composition with T.Claus and J.Fritsch.

He has performed as a soloist throughout Europe, at leading international music festivals and venues, and won the A.Scriabin Piano Competition (Paris, 2010) and R.Vines Piano Competition (Lleida, 2008).

Bruno Vlahek has composed in many genres and his works have been performed to great acclaim in Berlin, Munich, Prague, Vienna, Riga, Lausanne and Belgrade, also at the Dubrovnik Summer Festival, in the USA, and at the ISCM's World New Music Days 2010 in Sydney, Australia.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM499
Supplier Code RM499
Price £6.00
ComposerBruno Vlahek
CategoryDouble Bass & Piano
SeriesFizz @ 50
Difficulty level8
ISMN 979-0-57045-499-0
EAN-13 9790570454990
Weight 67 grams
Published 23rd July 2012
Availability 10 in stock
See also...
RM525  Fizzy Basso
RM543  Duo-ASTA
RM662  khroma zones
RM708  Burleska