Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £12.50

Leckhampton is played pizzicato throughout and is playable by string orchestra, without double basses, or string quartet. This brief and atmospheric interlude would fit easily into any concert or recital and the ethereal and gossamer-like contrapuntal lines create a magical soundworld of beauty and simplicity.

Douglas Mason writes: 'Leckhampton is a short autobiographical piece about the place in the English Cotswolds where the composer grew up. In particular, it depicts the fun of exploring the woods on the nearby hill and searching its abandoned limestone quarries for fossils.'

Douglas Mason began his musical training as a chorister in Gloucester Cathedral Choir under John Sanders. He subsequently read music at Durham University, and went on to train as a music teacher at Leeds University, also singing professionally as a lay clerk in the Choir of Leeds Parish Church at this time.

As a composer, Douglas focuses on choral works in particular, and he has also written and arranged music for schools. As a performer Douglas has sung on numerous television and radio broadcasts and appeared on recordings for several labels, including Abbey, Priory and ASC records. For several years he was also a member of the William Byrd Singers directed by Stephen Wilkinson.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM478
Supplier Code RM478
Price £12.50
ComposerDouglas Mason
CategoriesString Quartet
String Orchestra
ISMN 979-0-57045-478-5
EAN-13 9790570454785
Weight 183 grams
Published 11th April 2012
Availability 6 in stock
See also...
RM399  Chinese Galop Op.20