Distant Dreams - Forgotten Memories

Cover photograph
Out of Print

This edition is only available in Solo Tuning.

David Ellis writes: 'This collection of five short pieces, originally for violin and double bass, was written for David Heyes in 2007. Although the title suggests music of specific inspiration, these are merely brief encounters which demand equal opportunities for each player to demonstrate ensemble and technical skills, rather than responding to extra-musical influences.'

There are also two other versions for double bass: one with guitar (solo tuning RM444), the other with violin (orchestral tuning RM441).

David Ellis is one of Britain's senior composers and writes in a confident, accessible and strident idiom which has proved popular with players and audiences alike. His works for double bass have been performed worldwide and offer musical and technical challenges in equal measure.

This set of five pieces makes effective use of both instruments offering much for performers and audiences alike. The modern idiom is tempered by a lyrical and cantabile approach and the composers close attention to details produces music of great quality and distinction.

David Ellis was born in Liverpool in 1933 and studied at the Royal Manchester College of Music from 1953-57. His work as a composer began to be recognised at this time, not only through performances but also from important and prestigious commissions and awards including the Royal Philharmonic Prize, Ricordi Prize, Theodore Holland Award, Royal Manchester Institution Silver Medal and a Gulbenkian Award.

From 1964 onwards David Ellis worked at the BBC and was subsequently appointed Head of Music, BBC North before becoming Artistic Director and Composer-in-Residence of the Northern Chamber Orchestra in 1986. In 1994 he left the NCO to help set up the Orquestra Sinfónica Portuguesa, based in Lisbon, before returning to the UK to concentrate exclusively on composition.

An impressive work list comprises compositions in almost every genre from opera, choral and vocal, to orchestral, concertos, brass band and chamber music.

Cat No. RM445
Supplier Code RM445
ComposerDavid Ellis
CategoryDouble Bass & Piano
Difficulty level7 - 8, Advanced
ISMN 979-0-57045-445-7
EAN-13 9790570454457
Weight 126 grams
Published 21st April 2011
Availability OUT OF PRINT.
Unavailable - sorry!
See also...
RM776  Parallel Shadows