There is Joy

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £2.00

Part of our Recital Music Multiple Copies of Choral Music

Extra 10% discount when you order 20+ copies from the Recital Choral Catalogue.

This offer applies to selected products.

Set to a poem written in 1652 by Johann G. Albinus and translated into English in 1863 by Catherine Winkworth, There is Joy is performable by two solo singers or a female choir. The accompaniment was written for organ but works equally well with piano, and this lively and accessible work offers few challenges and much to enjoy.

A syncopated feel adds to the energy of the music and there are solo opportunities interspersed with the two-part writing and an accompaniment which supports the voices and links the sections.

American composer, Armand Russell, has composed a number of choral works in recent years, which are equally at home in secular or sacred settings.

Armand Russell was born in Seattle, Washington in 1932. He received the Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts degrees from the University of Washington, with a major in music composition, and a Doctorate in music composition from the Eastman School of Music. He studied double bass with Leslie Martin, who played in the Seattle Symphony and Boston Symphony Orchestras, and at the Eastman School of Music with Oscar Zimmerman. His composition studies were with John Verrall and George McKay at the University of Washington, and with Bernard Rogers and Howard Hanson at the Eastman School.

Professionally, Armand Russell played double bass in many orchestras including the Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Boston Pops Tour Orchestra, Rochester Philharmonic and Civic Orchestras, and Honolulu Symphony. For five years he taught as a visiting Professor at the Eastman School of Music. From 1961 to 1994 he taught at the University of Hawaii Music Department and retired as Professor emeritus in 1994. While at the University of Hawaii he taught music theory, composition and double bass and also served as Chair of the Music Department for seven years.

Armand Russell has composed many works for double bass and also percussion, including solos, chamber music and concertos. Some of his most frequently performed works include Chaconne (Db/Pno), Buffo Set (Db/Pno), Harlequin Concerto (Db/Orch), Pas de Deux (Cl/Perc), Percussion Suite, Theme & Fantasia (Concert Band) and Suite Concertante (Tuba/Wind Quintet). He has also composed several works for choirs in recent years and has continued to write for the double bass alongside a growing body of chamber music and transcriptions.

Armand Russell's compositional style is confident and direct with a clarity of line and texture always to the fore. A modern, yet lyrical and accessible style, has created works which communicate equally to performers and audiences alike and he has made, and continues to make, a unique and valuable contribution to the double bass litereature throughout a long and successful career.

Recital Music is planning a celebration of Armand Russell's music at Bass-Fest in 2012 to celebrate the composers 80th birthday.

Difficulty: Easy
8 pages / A4 format / Paperback
Duration: c.3'30 - 4'00

[bar 34 should read 'enthroned' not 'enthrones']

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM435
Supplier Code RM435
Price £2.00
ComposerArmand Russell
WordsJohann G. Albinus
CategoryChoral (upper Voices)
ISMN 979-0-57045-435-8
EAN-13 9790570454358
Weight 14 grams
Published 5th January 2011
Availability 20 in stock