SVASTA - Everything is Possible

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £8.50

SVASTA - Everything is Possible was premiered on 31 August 2008 at the City Museum in Ljubljana, Slovenia (Mesti muzej Ljubljana) by Iztok Hrastnik and was awarded Joint-2nd Prize in the 2010 Recital Music Composition Competition. Svasta was also awarded an 'Honorable Mention' in the 2010 ISB Composition Contest.

A performance of the work is also available on YouTube.

"Svasta is a tour de force of conventional bass technqies and is loaded with double stops,lyrical passages, and virtuosic flourishes. It makes a concise statement and would be engaging to hear on a recital program and much fun to play." [Robert Black - Bass World/ISB]

The composer writes: "SVASTA - Everything is Possible is a piece I wanted to represent the double bass as an independent virtuoso concert instrument without the need for a piano accompaniment.

The piece should be taken as a musical journey, where everything can happen; starting at the espressivo and affetuoso introduction, to ritmico, almost furioso, and back again to the arioso, calmo and sentio feeling, an emotional temperament and then again to virtuoso, and again... Everything happens and builds for a reason - to arrive at the finale, which is an absolute burst of virtuosity and technical challenges.

Two major things also play a significant role in this work: the multiple changes in time signature and the balkan irregular rhythm patterns. With the persistent technical challenges and an expansion of them (percussion effects and singing at the same time as playing) this piece pushes the boundaries of the instrument further. A dramatic and powerful work that is written in a modern, but accessible idiom.

The word SVASTA is a balkan slang word used to express one's amazement of something almost unbelievable, after which the thought arises: "now I have seen it all!"

Nejc Kuhar was born in Slovenia in 1987 and is a guitarist and composer. He initially studied with Anton Crnugelj and subsequently in Vienna with Alvar Pierri, also studying composition with Reiner Bischof.

He has written many works for guitar, alongside solo and chamber music, and he has won a number of international composition competitions, including the Gustav Mahler Competition, which have introduced his works to musicians throughout the world.

Nejc Kuhar has also been awarded many international prizes as a solo guitarist, as well as in the Prokofiev Guitar Duo, and he has received much critical acclaim both in Slovenia and abroad. He gives many solo and chamber concerts, performing music from the Baroque era to the present day, including particularly his own works.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM432
Supplier Code RM432
Price £8.50
ComposerNejc Kuhar
CategoryDouble Bass Solo
Difficulty levelAdvanced
ISMN 979-0-57045-432-7
EAN-13 9790570454327
Weight 85 grams
Published 24th December 2010
Availability 5 in stock