Suite Française

Cover photograph
Out of Print,

Others in the series:

Concerto for Alto Saxoph…
A New Day's Comin'

The Recital Music Plus series

The "Recital Music Plus" series allows greater freedom to purchasers of string orchestra sets. Each set includes a score and 1 copy of each part with a licence to allow copying. Please see for full terms.

David Ellis writes 'This suite was initailly put together for school or amateur orchestras in the mid 1950s. It is based upon the collection made in the 16th-century by Claude Gervais, and consists of four dances popular at that time.

First, an energetic Allemande; next, a graceful Forlane with a disruptive middle section; then a slow and stately Pavane. The final movement is a lively Galliard, which, true to 16th-century custom, concludes with a return of the opening Galliard.

The revised version of the suite was made in 1987 for the Northern Chamber Orchestra but amended to recognise the degree of professional virtuosity available; however, it is fair to say that it is well within the capabilities of today's amateur and younger players.'

David Ellis has created a lively and accessible suite with much of interest for each section. The contrast of solo and tutti adds an extra layer to the various textures , and there is much to enjoy for players and audiences alike. This has much in common with Peter Warlock's 'Capriol Suite' but offers more musical and technical challenges, bringing music from the 16th-century to the present day.

David Ellis was born in Liverpool in 1933 and studied at the Royal Manchester College of Music from 1953-57. His work as a composer began to be recognised at this time, not only through performances but also from important and prestigious commissions and awards including the Royal Philharmonic Prize, Ricordi Prize, Theodore Holland Award, Royal Manchester Institution Silver Medal and a Gulbenkian Award.

From 1964 onwards David Ellis worked at the BBC and was subsequently appointed Head of Music, BBC North before becoming Artistic Director and Composer-in-Residence of the Northern Chamber Orchestra in 1986. In 1994 he left the NCO to help set up the Orquestra Sinfónica Portuguesa, based in Lisbon, before returning to the UK to concentrate exclusively on composition.

An impressive work list comprises compositions in almost every genre from opera, choral and vocal, to orchestral, concertos, brass band and chamber music.

Cat No. RM424
Supplier Code RM424
ComposerDavid Ellis
CategoryString Orchestra
SeriesRecital Music Plus
Difficulty level7 - 8, Advanced
ISMN 979-0-57045-424-2
EAN-13 9790570454242
Weight 246 grams
Published 10th October 2010
Availability OUT OF PRINT.
Unavailable - sorry!
See also...
RMS024  Elegy Op.58
RMS043  Love Music