Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £8.50

English composer, John Ramsden Williamson, is prolific in most genres particularly the piano, and has composed a number of works for double bass.

Mirrors, composed in the mid-1990s and revised in 2005, is a suite of 5 pieces for double bass and piano and is aimed at the good intermediate bassist. Written in a modern but accessible style, this would be a good introduction to 'modern' music for any student looking for something a little different. Each performer is treated as an equal partner in the suite and there are musical and technical challenges for both players. Written in the orchestral range of the double bass, there is much to explore both tonally and texturally, and the pieces can also be performed successfully singly or as a complete suite.

Each movement has its own succinct character and message to convey, none outstaying their welcome, and this is music designed to communicate in a mildly chromatic idiom which adds a touch of spice to the proceedings.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM381
Price £8.50
ComposerJohn R. Williamson
CategoryDouble Bass & Piano
Difficulty level6 - 7
ISMN 979-0-57045-381-8
EAN-13 9790570453818
Weight 110 grams
Published 21st August 2009
Availability 5 in stock