The Pink Elephant

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £12.50

Scored for 4 Violins and 4 Double Basses (or Cellos).

The catchy melody is one that stays with you for a long time and this is fun to play for the good beginner quartet. This edition is based on the original bass quartet, with new material provided by the composer.

Tony Osborne is an important educationalist and prolific composer who has made a significant and unique contribution to the double bass repertoire over the past 35 years. His solo music for young bassists is included by many international examination boards, and his many ensembles pieces are performed at workshops and concerts throughout the world. Tony Osborne notes the influences of Gershwin, Copland and Bernstein, alongside some of the Russian masters, on his music, which he combines with a jazzy, rhythmic and energetic style that has been popular with players and audiences worldwide.

Born in 1947 into a musical family, Tony Osborne studied at the Royal Academy of Music (London) with John Walton (double bass) and Richard Stoker (composition), and divides a busy career between composing, teaching and performing. A very prolific composer and arranger, Tony's original compositions include works in almost every genre, notably Chaconne Syncopations and Wainwright's Ways for brass quintet, Celebration Fanfare for brass ensemble, the musical A Fine Time for Wine, a beautiful and dramatic Requiem and many works for string orchestra.

In 2001 Tony Osborne was elected an ARAM (Associate of the Royal Academy of Music) for his pioneering and important work for double bass, and has been a featured composer at Bass-Fest for the past decade. He was a very successful BIBF Composer-in-residence in 2002-3 and wrote a number of impressive and innovative works for the project. He has been a judge for the British Composer Awards over the past few years and has been a judge for the BIBF Composition Competition since 1999. Recital Music is planning a major festival of Tony Osborne's music in 2012, to celebrate the composer's 65th birthday, and has formulated a 10-year project to publish all his works for double bass.

Cat No. RM376
Price £12.50
ComposerTony Osborne
EditorDavid Heyes
CategoryString Octet
ISMN 979-0-57045-376-4
EAN-13 9790570453764
Weight 127 grams
Published 19th July 2009
Availability 6 in stock


This fun quartet is a musical depiction of your favourite black-and-white TV cop from the early 1960s waiting to pounce on some shady crooks outside The Pink Elephant Night Club...the appropriately kitsch, swingy melody sounds like a cross between The Pink Panther and Baby Elephant Walk.