Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £10.50

Written in solo tuning and composed for Duo Moravi, this one movement work is lyrical and approachable, beginning with an extended soliloquy for double bass.

Miloslav Gajdos is one of the most enterprising bassists in Central Europe and writes in a melodic, tonal and traditional style. The lyrical violin melody soars above a supportive and chordally-based quaver accompaniment, full of interesting double stops and harmonic structure.

Miloslav Gajdos has composed and transcribed several hundred works for double bass in a successful 40 year career and Recital Music is his principal publisher. This edition also includes a version for double bass duo.

Performance Level: Advanced

Miloslav Gajdos is one of Europe's most active and inventive bassist-composers. He was born in northern Moravia in 1948 and initially learned violin before transferring to the double bass, studying with Alois Kriz, Jiri Bortlicek and Ludwig Streicher. He has been Professor of Double Bass at the Vejvenovsky Conseravtoire in Kromeriz (Czech Republic) since 1971, and was a member of the Olomouc Symphony Orchestra for a number of years. He is Director of the Gregora International Double Bass Competition, founded in 1979 and held every two years in Kromeriz, and has been a juror at many competitions in Hungary, Germany and the Czech Republic.

Miloslav Gajdos is a prolific composer and arranger and, for almost 40 years, has produced a vast body of original works and transcriptions for double bass which are performed worldwide. His original works combine Czech lyricism and melody with brilliant technical demands, and music from one to sixteen double basses. He writes in a traditional and accessible style, producing music for every level of performer, particularly for the advanced bassist, and his many works for unaccompanied double bass are frequently chosen as international competition repertoire.

Miloslav Gajdos was Recital Music's Featured Composer in 2007 and has recently revised a number of earlier works for the intermediate bassist which will be published by Recital Music.
[Gajdos is pronounced GUY-DOSH]

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM359
Price £10.50
ComposerMiloslav Gajdos
CategoriesViolin & Double Bass
Double Bass Duet
Difficulty levelAdvanced
ISMN 979-0-57045-359-7
EAN-13 9790570453597
Weight 85 grams
Published 19th July 2009
Availability 4 in stock
See also...
RM236  Almost a Serious Duo
RM789  Sonata in the Viennese Style (DOUBLE BASS DUET)