A Christmas Carol

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £2.00


43 publications in this series

Part of our Recital Music Multiple Copies of Choral Music

Extra 10% discount when you order 20+ copies from the Recital Choral Catalogue.

This offer applies to selected products.

The Christmas Choral & Vocal Music series

Recital Music has developed a large, exciting and eclectic catalogue of Christmas music for choirs in recent years. Some works are published for the first time, others are in new editions, and we aim to provide accessible and enjoyable choral music for choirs of all ages and abilities. Enjoy!

A Christmas Carol is scored for SATB Choir and Piano, but would also work successfully with a solo quartet and piano. A version with string quartet is also available.

Based on 'God rest ye merry gentlemen' and collected by Cecil Sharp (1859-1924) from Mr Rapsey of Bridgwater (Somerset), the new accompaniment by Peter Lamb is both evocative and inventive, offering music of great quality for choirs of all ages and abilities. There are opportunities for solo singers to be introduced to contrast the sound of the choir and 'A Christmas Carol' is also available for solo voice and piano in 'A Somerset Christmas'.

Peter Lamb (1925-2013) was born in London and studied composition at Trinity College of Music, subsequently with Arthur Benjamin, and was awarded a Fellowship of Trinity College for his First String Quartet.

He combined a busy career as a professional composer and music administrator, initially working for two international record companies before an appointment as Deputy Manager of the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra. Here he worked on programme building with the eminent conductor Constantin Silvestri, and also helped to establish the Bournemouth Sinfonietta. For ten years he was Head of Music at Peter Symonds' College in Winchester and, prior to his retirement, lectured at the University of Southampton for eight years.

Peter Lamb's music has been performed worldwide, from Britain, France and Sweden, to Brazil, Canada and America, and significant works include a Flute Sonata, Flute Sonatina, Duologue for oboe and piano, a String Quartet, Concerto for viola and string orchestra, Wind Quintet, and many unaccompanied choral works. His compositional style combines a quintessentially English quality with a clarity of line and expression, incorporating a rich and varied harmonic palette and a gallic charm, producing music of strong character and distinction.

In recent years Peter Lamb composed a number of works for double bass - for players of all ages and abilities - helping to increase the quality and breadth of modern English music for the instrument.

Difficulty: Easy
8 pages / A4 format / Paperback
Duration: 3-4 minutes

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM351
Supplier Code RM351
Price £2.00
ComposerPeter Lamb
TranscribedCecil Sharp
CategoryCarols (mixed Voices)
SeriesChristmas Choral & Vocal Music
ISMN 979-0-57045-351-1
EAN-13 9790570453511
Weight 14 grams
Published 27th January 2012
Availability 25 in stock