La Traviata Prelude

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £15.00

Others in the series:

Air Varie on a theme of…
Meditation from Thais
Intermezzo from 'Goyesca…
The Can-Can
Va Pensiero (Chorus of t…
Rigoletto Solo
Romance de L'Elisir d'Am…
Otello Solo
Two Russian Arias

The A night at the Opera series

The world of opera has long inspired composers and players to plunder the best arias and melodies to transcribe for other instruments. The double bass is no exception and Bottesini's operatic fantasias are still at the very heart of our solo repertoire into the 21st-century.
Recital Music publish a number of opera transcriptions - works for double bass and piano or double bass ensemble - and there are many more works in various stages of publication. It's difficult to keep a good tune down!

Giuseppe Verdi (1813-1901) was one of the greatest opera composers of the 19th-century and many of his works are still in the international operatic repertoire to this day. La Traviata dates from 1853 and is based on the play 'La Dame aux camelias' by Alexander Dumas and, although a failure initially, is now one of Verdi's most popular operas.

The opening Prelude to Act One sets the scene and the music transcribes well for double bass octet with much of the melodic material being shared between the players. Basses 1-4 play in treble clef for most of the time and Basses 5-8 play in a lower tessitura.

The music is charming, poignant, dramatic and lyrical offering something of interest for each player.

The transcription was made in July/August 2011 and was premiered in Tiujana.

An edition for cello octet is in preparation.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM296
Supplier Code RM296
Price £15.00
ComposerGiuseppe Verdi
ArrangerDavid Heyes
CategoryDouble Bass Octet
Series A night at the Opera
Difficulty level6 - 8, Advanced
ISMN 979-0-57045-296-5
EAN-13 9790570452965
Weight 168 grams
Published 11th January 2012
Availability 7 in stock
See also...
RM311  Rigoletto Solo (DOUBLE BASS SEXTET)
RM489  Va Pensiero (Chorus of the Hebrew Slaves) (DOUBLE BASS QUARTET)