Air Varie on a theme of Mercadente Op.89, No.6

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £6.50

Others in the series:

Otello Solo
Meditation from Thais
Intermezzo from 'Goyesca…
The Can-Can
Va Pensiero (Chorus of t…
La Traviata Prelude
Rigoletto Solo
Romance de L'Elisir d'Am…
Two Russian Arias

The A night at the Opera series

The world of opera has long inspired composers and players to plunder the best arias and melodies to transcribe for other instruments. The double bass is no exception and Bottesini's operatic fantasias are still at the very heart of our solo repertoire into the 21st-century.
Recital Music publish a number of opera transcriptions - works for double bass and piano or double bass ensemble - and there are many more works in various stages of publication. It's difficult to keep a good tune down!

Charles Dancla (1818-1907) was a French violinist, teacher and composer and was the last representative of the French school of violin playing. He was a successful soloist and had the gift for writing bright and graceful music for the violin. He composed many works for his instrument, including two sets of operatic fantasies on themes from Italian opera for violin and piano (Op.89 and Op.118), and Air Varie No.6 on a theme of Mercadente is taken from the first set (Op.89).

Newly arranged for double bass by David Heyes, an elegant and stylish theme is followed by two inventive and spritely variations ending with a short and exciting finale. The piece uses a two octave range of the double bass, into low thumb position, and its equal range of musical and technical challenges will make this suitable for a Grade 8 player, or slightly more advanced, who is confident in the working orchestral range of the instrument and is looking for something a little different - an 'easy virtuoso' piece.

The piano accompaniment is simple and supportive and the piece is only available in orchestral tuning.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM241
Supplier Code RM241
Price £6.50
ComposerCharles Dancla
ArrangerDavid Heyes
CategoryDouble Bass & Piano
Series A night at the Opera
Difficulty level8
ISMN 979-0-57045-241-5
EAN-13 9790570452415
Weight 69 grams
Published 30th July 2012
Availability 5 in stock