Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £10.50

Ostinato, composed in 2002 and dedicated to Annemieke Marinkovic, and is a work of great energy and rhythmic momentum. The double bass plays a strongly independent line against a lively and insistent accompaniment, influenced by jazz and contemporary idioms. The composer describes the persistent and dogged rhythms as the demands and challenges of modern society, ending slowly and calmly with a relaxed heartbeat rhythm played by the double bass.

There are musical and technical challenges for each performer and Ostinato demonstrates the wonderful solo capabilities of the double bass in the hands of a master composer. David Heyes describes the piece as '...one of the most exciting, energetic and impressive pieces I have heard in many years. A work which deserves to be played by bassists worldwide.'

Nico de Rooij (b.1943) is a Dutch composer and pianist and studied at the Royal Conservatoire in The Hague. He has worked as a pianist with the Radio Chamber Orchestra, Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra and Radio Philharmonic, and from 1974-2002 was the pianist with the Netherlands Ballet Orchestra. He has written a number of successful works, in a number of genres, and Ostinato is his only solo work for double bass. His music is influenced by jazz, popular and contemporary styles and is music which communicates equally to both performers and audiences.

The edition includes accompaniments for both solo and orchestral tunings.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM175
Supplier Code RM175
Price £10.50
ComposerNico de Rooij
CategoryDouble Bass & Piano
Difficulty levelAdvanced
ISMN 979-0-57045-175-3
EAN-13 9790570451753
Weight 99 grams
Published 1st June 2010
Availability 2 in stock
See also...
RM493  Rovinjski Nocturno