Secrets of the Silk Road

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £7.50

David Heyes writes: "François Rabbath was born in Aleppo (Syria) in 1931 and once I realised that the city was part of the famous Silk Road I had my theme for a 90th birthday piece for the iconic François.

"Aleppo was in the heart of the Silk Road, the one coming from China in the Far East toward what is currently known as Western Europe and the Spice Route coming from the far south in India to Yemen..." The title came first and the music seemed to have a life of its own, writing itself over a two day period. It features open strings and harmonics, alongside left-hand pizzicatos which add depth and contrast to lyrical melodies, many played on the D string.

'Secrets of the Silk Road' is free and rhapsodic, allowing the player freedom throughout, and explores a wealth of middle eastern sounds and effects. It evokes the many sounds and sights of the Silk Road, remembering the routes travelled by countless traders over many centuries and the great riches and images of amazing luxury and exotic new spices. The double bass uses a three octave range featuring a wealth of colours and timbres to describe the wonders of the Silk Road."

Secrets of the Silk Road was premiered on Thursday 3 June 2021 at Centre Civic Urgell, Barna, Barcelona (Spain) by Frano Kakarigi (double bass).

“Secrets of the Silk Road was received warmly and with much admiration, let me tell you!" [Frano Kakarigi, Contrabajo-Solista at Orquesta Ciudad de Granada, Spain]

David Heyes studied double bass with Laurence Gray and Bronwen Naish and later at the Royal College of Music in London. He completed his post-graduate studies in Prague with František Pošta (Principal Double Bass, Czech Philharmonic Orchestra). He has given recitals and masterclasses in 20 countries over the past few years and has been a juror at a number of international competitions, three times as chairman.

David has been Specialist Double Bass Tutor at Wells Cathedral School for 24 years and received a prestigious award from the David Walter Charitable Trust of New York for his pioneering activities as a soloist, teacher, publisher and commissioner of new music for double bass. He works with composers throughout the world and is particularly interested to expand the double bass repertoire, by commissioning new works and by rediscovering forgotten ones. Over the past 40 years he has commissioned more than 700 works, from beginner to virtuoso, and from one to twenty basses.

David has transcribed more than 200 works for double bass, many published by Recital Music, and in recent year has also composed a number of original works for double bass which have been performed in 27 countries (UK, USA, Germany, Czech Republic, Mexico, Turkey, Venezuela, Australia, Republic of Ireland, Israel, Malta, Brazil, Denmark, Ecuador, Japan, France, Slovakia, Italy, New Zealand, Norway, Austria, Spain, Guatemala, Patagonia, Albania, Russia and Belgium). David is self-taught as a composer and his music has been described as lyrical, evocative and accessible, but certainly of the 21st-century.


Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM1158
Supplier Code RM1158
Price £7.50
ComposerDavid Heyes
CategoryDouble Bass Solo
Difficulty level7 - 8, Advanced
Weight 100 grams
Published 21st May 2021
Availability 5 in stock
See also...
RM1113  A Tribute to Tony (Book 2)
RM1147  Somerset Suite (DOUBLE BASS & PIANO)