Somerset Suite

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £12.50

"The Somerset Suite contains three movements and is dedicated to David Heyes. Each movement presents a different mood and set of feelings that I associate with my visits to Somerset in the area around Wells and the Mendip Hills. David Heyes had driven my wife Sandra and me through Cheddar Gorge and thither and yon in the region. Most of our time was spent in Wells especially around Wells Cathedral School and the beautiful Cathedral. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there and, having been raised as an Anglican I am very comfortable in the surroundings. Wells has become my favourite place in England." [Armand Russell]

The printed edition is for Orchestral Tuning only. Versions for Solo and Orchestral tunings are available as PDF files from the publisher. Please contact Recital Music ( /

Armand Russell was born in Seattle, Washington in 1932. He received the Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts degrees from the University of Washington, with a major in music composition, and a Doctorate in music composition from the Eastman School of Music. He studied double bass with Leslie Martin, who played in the Seattle Symphony and Boston Symphony Orchestras, and at the Eastman School of Music with Oscar Zimmerman. His composition studies were with John Verrall and George McKay at the University of Washington, and with Bernard Rogers and Howard Hanson at the Eastman School.

Professionally, Armand Russell played double bass in many orchestras including the Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Boston Pops Tour Orchestra, Rochester Philharmonic and Civic Orchestras, and Honolulu Symphony. For five years he taught as a visiting Professor at the Eastman School of Music. From 1961 to 1994 he taught at the University of Hawaii Music Department and retired as Professor emeritus in 1994. While at the University of Hawaii he taught music theory, composition and double bass and also served as Chair of the Music Department for seven years.

Armand Russell has composed many works for double bass and also percussion, including solos, chamber music and concertos. Some of his most frequently performed works include Chaconne (Db/Pno), Buffo Set (Db/Pno), Harlequin Concerto (Db/Orch), Pas de Deux (Cl/Perc), Percussion Suite, Theme & Fantasia (Concert Band) and Suite Concertante (Tuba/Wind Quintet). He has also composed several works for choirs in recent years and has continued to write for the double bass alongside a growing body of chamber music and transcriptions.

Armand Russell's compositional style is confident and direct with a clarity of line and texture always to the fore. A modern, yet lyrical and accessible style, has created works which communicate equally to performers and audiences alike and he has made, and continues to make, a unique and valuable contribution to the double bass litereature throughout a long and successful career.

Recital Music is planning a celebration of Armand Russell's music at Bass-Fest in 2012 to celebrate the composers 80th birthday.


  • 1. Somerset Prelude
  • 2. Somerset Meditation
  • 3. Somerset Scherzo

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM1147
Supplier Code RM1147
Price £12.50
ComposerArmand Russell
CategoryDouble Bass & Piano
Difficulty level7 - 8, Advanced
Weight 142 grams
Published 27th July 2021
Availability 7 in stock
See also...
RM545  Hawai'i Variations
RM1151  Somerset Morning
RM1158  Secrets of the Silk Road (DOUBLE BASS SOLO)