Fhir a Bhata

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £12.50

Scored for 4 Violins & 4 Double Basses (or Cellos)

Fhir a Bhata (The Boatman) is a beautiful and haunting Scottish melody arranged for string octet by David Heyes. It is playable by violin quartet with double bass or cello quartet (or a combination of cellos and basses) and separate cello and bass parts are included. Bass 1 and 2 play in treble clef, the others in bass clef, and the melodic material is shared between the violins and basses.

It is playable by octet or larger forces and offers wonderful music for players of all ages and abilities. Fhir a Bhata was arranged for 'Fiddler's 8' and premiered at Wells Cathedral School.

Performance Level: 6;8

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM112
Supplier Code RM112
Price £12.50
ComposerW. Augustus Barrett
EditorDavid Heyes
CategoryString Octet
Difficulty level6 - 8
ISMN 979-0-57045-112-8
EAN-13 9790570451128
Weight 94 grams
Published 19th July 2009
Availability 5 in stock