Danse Caprice

Cover photograph Price £10.00

74 publications in this series

The Heritage Series series

The history of the double bass features many player-composers who created a wealth of music for bassists of all abilities. Recital Music publish a wide and eclectic range of music by these important figures from the history of the instrument, particularly from the 19th and early 20th-centuries, and more works are in preparation. Some names are well known today, others almost forgotten, but each made a valuable contribution to the repertoire of the double bass and helped create a unqiue repertoire which deserves to be performed.

This printed edition is for SOLO TUNING only but it is also available as a PDF file for both tunings. Please contact doublebass@tiscali.co.uk or solodoublebass@gmail.com for more details.

Danse Caprice is in one extended movement and emphasises the sonorous, lyrical and cantabile qualities of the double bass throughout its solo register. The style is late-romantic and accessible, probably written at the end of the 19th-century, with a strongly independent and supportive piano accompaniment. Cerny's music is always beautifully written for the double bass and title echoes the dance-like music, in waltz time, with a capricious energy and effervescence throughout.

Frantisek Cerny was a Czech bassist, teacher and composer. He was born on 23 January 1860 in Pardubice and studied at the Prague Conservatoire (1876-82) and in Paris, where he later became a member of the Orchestre Colonne-Lamoureux from 1884-1890. He returned to Czechoslovakia in 1890, when he was appointed Principal Bass of the National Theatre Orchestra in Prague (1890-1900), and it was at this time that he discovered the wonderful Grancino double bass of 1693, later owned by Oldrichs Sorejs and Frantisek Posta.

Cerny was an outstanding teacher and taught at the Prague Conservatoire for 31 years (1900-31) and many of the leading Czech bassists at the beginning of the 20th-century were taught by him. He was not a prolific composer and most of his works were written for the double bass, including a Method (1906), 30 Etudes-Caprices (1923), Technical Studies in Thumb Position (1927), 4 Concertos and ten salon pieces for double bass and piano.

Cerny studied composition with Antonin Dvorak and much of his music reflects the salon style of the late 19th-century. All his works are melodic and appealing, combining the late-Romantic idiom of Dvorak and Brahms, with Czech lyricism and influences, and he makes full use of the solo capabilities of the double bass.

Frantisek Cerny died in Prague on 3 September 1940.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM1031
Supplier Code RM1031
Price £10.00
ComposerFrantisek Cerny
EditorDavid Heyes
CategoryDouble Bass & Piano
SeriesHeritage Series
Difficulty level8, Advanced
Weight 132 grams
Published 9th December 2019
Availability 5 in stock
See also...
RM1033  Konzertstuck Op.24
RM1034  Duo Basso II - In Memory of Ray Brown (DOUBLE BASS DUET)