Preludes & Nocturnes

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £8.50

'Preludes & Nocturnes' is dedicated to David Heyes who indefatigably supports new music for the double bass.

Armand Russell writes: "Preludes & Nocturnes consists of five brief movements each with a descriptive adjective. The Preludes are the first, middle and last movements. A touch of irony is suggested in that the last movement is a Prelude. The two Nocturnes are written to imply three voices by the one, solo double bass. These tranquil and restive Nocturnes are expressive and somewhat slower by comparison with the assertive, capricious and whimsical Preludes."

Each movement lasts approximately one minute in length and they may be performed separately or in various combinations at the performers discretion.

Armand Russell was born in Seattle, Washington in 1932. He received the Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts degrees from the University of Washington, with a major in music composition, and a Doctorate in music composition from the Eastman School of Music. He studied double bass with Leslie Martin, who played in the Seattle Symphony and Boston Symphony Orchestras, and at the Eastman School of Music with Oscar Zimmerman. His composition studies were with John Verrall and George McKay at the University of Washington, and with Bernard Rogers and Howard Hanson at the Eastman School.

Professionally, Armand Russell played double bass in many orchestras including the Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Boston Pops Tour Orchestra, Rochester Philharmonic and Civic Orchestras, and Honolulu Symphony. For five years he taught as a visiting Professor at the Eastman School of Music. From 1961 to 1994 he taught at the University of Hawaii Music Department and retired as Professor emeritus in 1994. While at the University of Hawaii he taught music theory, composition and double bass and also served as Chair of the Music Department for seven years.

Armand Russell has composed many works for double bass and also percussion, including solos, chamber music and concertos. Some of his most frequently performed works include Chaconne (Db/Pno), Buffo Set (Db/Pno), Harlequin Concerto (Db/Orch), Pas de Deux (Cl/Perc), Percussion Suite, Theme & Fantasia (Concert Band) and Suite Concertante (Tuba/Wind Quintet). He has also composed several works for choirs in recent years and has continued to write for the double bass alongside a growing body of chamber music and transcriptions.

Armand Russell's compositional style is confident and direct with a clarity of line and texture always to the fore. A modern, yet lyrical and accessible style, has created works which communicate equally to performers and audiences alike and he has made, and continues to make, a unique and valuable contribution to the double bass litereature throughout a long and successful career.

Recital Music celebrated Armand Russell's 80th birthday at Wells Cathedral School (Somerset, UK) in 2012 with a series of lectures and recitals.

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM1000
Supplier Code RM1000
Price £8.50
ComposerArmand Russell
CategoryDouble Bass Solo
Difficulty level7 - 8, Advanced
Weight 108 grams
Published 7th August 2018
Availability 10 in stock